Our Synod

Synod Women's Organization


Our Synod organization includes Lutheran women who gather in nearly 200 communities of Northwest Wisconsin for service, study, advocacy, fellowship, and more. WELCA (Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America) embraces all kinds of ministries that support our mission of mobilizing women to act boldly on their faith in Jesus Christ. There is a place for you in Women of the ELCA, both locally and nationally!

  • synod resource center


    Phone: 715.559.3445

    Looking for a book, video, bible study or worship resources? Our Synod Resource Center can help! You can visit the center at 202 W Grand Avenue, Eau Claire and browse through the many resources housed there or you can access files electronically using the link above. Either way, you will find a wealth of information to meet your needs.

Synod COuncil

Approved Synod Council Minutes

March 19, 2016

September 17, 2016

February 4, 2017

May 21, 2016 (assembly)

April 29, 2017 (assembly)

Synod Council is our board of directors and our legislative authority in between synod assemblies. Minutes from Synod Council meetings are available on request from the synod office. The council meets three or four times a year and is made up of the following:


Rev. Rick Hoyme, Bishop (2019)

Lynn Fering, Vice President (2019)

Rev. Lori Peper, Secretary (2020)

John Levi, Treasurer (2020)


Apple River Conference

Justin Swanson (2019)

Rev. Marilyn Crossfield (2018)

Kim Patterson (2017)

Chequamegon Conference

Dan Rosien (2018)

Jenny Nieman (2019)

Rev. Bob Giese (2017)

Chippewa Valley Conference

Tim Fehr (2018) 

Rev. Sarah Semmler Smith (2017)

Michelle Pride (2019)

Dairyland Conference

Edsel Johnson (2017)

Rev. Rolf Morck (2019)

Kathy Boe (2018)

Heart of the North Conference

Ed Peters (2019)

Karyn Hullinger (2017)

Rev. Russell Leeper (2018)

Lake Superior Conference

Magge Ericson (2018)

Rev. Paul Simmons (2019)

Gerald Olson (2017)

St. Croix Valley Conference

Phyllis Beastrom (2018)

Ed Waters (2017)

Rev. Erin Nelson (2019)


Mara Grant (2017)

Maddy LoRusso (2018)


Steven Albarado (2018)


Women of the ELCA

Sue Saarem

Specialized Ministry

Bishop’s Staff

Rev. Greg Kaufmann

Rev. Laurie Skow-Anderson

Liz Bartsch